This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

C-14 Medical Assistance in Dying

Honourable senators, it's with a good deal of humility and similar pride in this institution that I rise to participate in this debate. It's been an incredible week for me in this chamber, as it has been for many of you who have spoken about that experience.

In the course of the debate, we've experienced the power of reason and argument; we've experienced also the equal power of emotion and our own personal stories. And, as legislators, it is our task now to integrate the reason and logic, stories and emotion, and ultimately come to an individual and, through the process of legislating, a collective view.

It is in that context that I rise and participate in this debate, a debate which we all know was commenced with the ruling of the Supreme Court in the Carter case, in which the Supreme Court called upon the government, Parliament, to respond in a year to the ruling. And for reasons that Senator Patterson rightly described, because of the unique circumstances of that year and a change in Parliament, Parliament itself has had a less than fulsome period in which to deal with the Supreme Court's demand. I would argue that Parliament, the government, have, within the context of that timing, had a broad process of engaging parliamentarians and other stakeholders, provincial and territorial governments, affected communities, the disabled, certainly legal advice. And Parliament, in terms of the other chamber, dealt in the way in which the House of Commons works, with a series of positions and amendments and ultimately on an all-party basis passed a bill which is now before us, for us now to take our responsibilities.

I cannot see how we end this process for us other than having support for a particular position embraced by non-traditional and cross-bench, if I can use that term, voices in this chamber. The task for us over the next number of days is to find the mechanisms that allow us to achieve that.

I want to let you know that I feel that as part of my obligation as well, and I commit to you to work as best I can within the role that I play to continue to make this an opportunity in which the Senate can be seen to be and is acting in accordance with the highest standards of our mandate.

Some Hon. Senators: Hear, hear.

Senator Harder: While the parliamentary consideration, one could argue, has been rushed, the debate has been long; 23 years ago, in the Rodriguez case, it launched the debate, and there have been a number of references in place to the work of Senate committees, and in particular Senators Nancy Ruth and Larry Campbell, and work done in public policy fora by institutes and professional groups on the whole area of medical assistance in dying and how societies ought to cope with this changing view, not necessarily driven in the courts in the first instance, obviously, but in society itself.

I would argue that the bill before us is a democratic bill in that it has a balanced approach and reflects the diverse views of stakeholders and Canadians across the country. I believe this bill, and at this historic moment, is a bill that is the right approach for our country at this time.

For the first time in Canadian history, our criminal law would permit physicians and nurse practitioners to provide medical assistance in dying so that patients suffering intolerably on a path towards death could have a peaceful passing and not be forced to endure a slow or painful dying process. Bill C-14 would also codify in the criminal law stringent national safeguards which the court in Carter considered essential to protect the most vulnerable.

The bill would also establish the framework for a pan-Canadian monitoring regime so that we may collect the required data to properly assess the implementation of medical assistance in dying.

The bill is the product of careful consideration of the need for personal autonomy, access to health care services, protection of vulnerable persons and also conscience rights of providers.

With Bill C-14, the government seeks to exempt certain health care providers from the Criminal Code offences of assisted suicide and homicide to allow them to provide or assist in providing medical assistance in dying, as stipulated by the Supreme Court of Canada.

This legislation defines the criteria that must be met for individuals to be eligible. There are safeguards that must be followed to ensure that these criteria are met and that the request is truly voluntary. This is critically important to protecting vulnerable populations. As the Minister of Health presented during Committee of the Whole, the legislation establishes the requirement to monitor medical assistance in dying so that we can see how it is working in Canada.

With this bill, we can be confident in it supporting the autonomy of patients who are approaching the end of their lives while protecting the most vulnerable in our society. It is fair to say that while on the one hand many say this bill goes too far, others say it has not gone far enough. Specific questions have been raised in this chamber with respect to the meaning of "reasonable foreseeability of natural death."

It must be remembered that this one criterion needs to be considered in conjunction with all the others, including the requirement that the person have a serious and incurable illness, disease or disability; and that the person be in an "advanced state of irreversible decline in capacity"; and that she or he be suffering intolerably in a manner that cannot be relieved under conditions that they consider acceptable.

"Reasonable foreseeability of natural death" means that, given all the factors contributing to a person's medical condition, it has become fairly clear that she or he is on an irreversible trajectory to death, even if there's no clear or specific diagnosis as to the course of their illness or how much time they have left. This criterion sends a clear message about the intended purpose of the legislation: to give competent adults who are on an irreversible path towards death the option of medical assistance in dying if they so choose.

For some, death may be foreseeable as a result of a single fatal medical condition, but death may also become foreseeable due to a combination of circumstances and conditions, none of which alone is fatal or could cause death.

The Minister of Health articulated to honourable senators that medical professionals have the professional knowledge, training and experience to assess the overall circumstances that lead to a trajectory towards the patient's natural death. The criteria, in their totality, were crafted in order to provide guidance to help medical providers in their assessment of eligibility, while allowing them flexibility in terms of clinical judgment.

However, making this kind of assessment is not an exact science. So the bill puts in place other safeguards, such as requiring that providers must exercise reasonable knowledge, care and skill, and act in accordance with provincial laws, rules or standards, and that the patient must be assessed by two physicians or nurse practitioners.

With respect to conscience rights, the government has committed to work with the provinces and territories to develop an end-of-life care coordination system that would effectively and practically balance the conscience rights of medical practitioners with the interests of Canadians seeking access. I would also note that the Justice and Human Rights Committee amended Bill C-14 to include a clearer statement in the preamble around conscience, as well as a clause in the Criminal Code that would affirm the importance of religious and conscience rights as guaranteed by the Charter, and would further clarify in the body of the bill itself that nothing in Bill C-14 compels an individual against their deeply held beliefs.

Canada's framework on medical assistance in dying needs to take into account a number of factors, including our constitutional framework, of course, but also the fact that Canadians live in such a vast country, including in remote and rural areas, as they construct the implementation of a constitutionally valid approach.

From coast to coast to coast, nurse practitioners provide a full range of high-quality health services, especially in remote and rural parts of Canada, given the lack of physicians in these regions. According to the Canadian Nurses Association, there has been a long tradition of serving the primary health care needs of 9 million people living in remote and rural communities with advanced practice nurses. This number, 9 million, represents a quarter of the Canadian population. This is one of the reasons why Bill C-14 provides exemptions for both physicians and nurse practitioners to be able to provide medical assistance in dying. Nurse practitioners or nurses with equivalent designation are those who are authorized in many provinces to perform medical functions necessary for medical assistance in dying. Similar to their physician colleagues, nurse practitioners have a broad scope of practice and the autonomy and independence to determine the appropriate assessment, diagnosis and required treatments to meet their patients' needs, including a patient requesting medical assistance in dying.

Exempting nurse practitioners from criminal liability, as the bill does, provides provinces and territories with an additional option to facilitate access to medical assistance in dying in unserved areas.

Regarding the issue of advance requests, it is useful to look at the experience and evidence from foreign jurisdictions. In the three European countries where individuals are allowed to make advance requests for medical assistance in dying, only the Netherlands permits such requests in the case of conscious patients who are unable to express their wishes, such as patients with dementia or Alzheimer's. In Belgium and Luxembourg, advance requests can only be carried out where the person is "in a state of irreversible consciousness."

To be clear, this is not what those who would like to see advance requests permitted in Canada are talking about. Evidence from the Netherlands suggests that in the case of individuals suffering from dementia, physicians are generally unwilling to administer medical assistance in dying after the patient has lost the ability to express their wishes. This evidence raises serious questions about the prospect of permitting a practice that Canadian physicians and nurse practitioners may be unwilling to carry out.

The Canadian Medical Association, who represents, as you know, 83,000 physicians across this country, echoed these concerns. They explained that currently in practice, even in the best of situations, physicians have a lot of difficulty acting on advance directives. Add the newness of medical assistance in dying on top of that, and the CMA stressed the potential difficulties in actualizing advance requests under such a complex set of circumstances, especially in the early years when medical providers are getting used to providing assistance in dying. They warned that it would likely prove more difficult for many physicians to participate in this process.

This is why the government has committed to studying this multi-faceted issue. I would like to commend also the members of the Justice and Human Rights Committee in the other place who amended the bill to require that the ministers initiate such an independent study on this issue no later than 180 days after the bill receives Royal Assent.

Finally, I'd like to stress how critical it is for this federal legislative response to be in place as soon as possible. On June 7, there will be no federal statutory framework on medical assistance in dying across this country. Outside of Quebec, there will, therefore, be a lack of safeguards that carry the force of clarity of the Criminal Code and no monitoring system for gathering data, both of which the Supreme Court said were necessary to reduce the risks of abuse or errors.

Uncertainty as to who would be eligible to obtain medical assistance in dying would also continue as legal experts, academics and courts continue to disagree about the meaning of the court's parameters in Carter. This would result in an inconsistent implementation of medical assistance in dying across the country, and this lack of legal clarity about the scope of the criminal exemption created by the Carter ruling could cause otherwise willing medical practitioners to refuse to provide assistance in dying to their patients.

As we heard from the Minister of Health just the other day in this chamber, this could cause very real access concerns for those Canadians who are waiting to obtain medical assistance in dying. In this way, providing legal certainty for medical professionals is inextricably tied to the rights of those Canadians who are suffering.

It has been said by several individuals, both inside and outside this chamber, that because there are provincial guidelines, we ought not to take into account the Supreme Court deadline. While I do agree that the sky will not fall, it is our responsibility to recognize and understand the highly variable standards and protections between our provinces and territories.

For example, Bill C-14 has explicit exemptions for nurse practitioners, other providers and people aiding at the express request of the patient. Medical regulatory guidelines address physicians only.

In New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland, individuals with a mental illness could be eligible for assisted death. Ten provinces and territories do not have residency requirements to be eligible for assisted death. In Ontario and British Columbia, guidelines do not specify age, which suggests the consideration of mature minors is possible. There is no specific waiting period in Quebec, P.E.I., Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and only two jurisdictions, Alberta and Yukon, require two witnesses. Most require only one or none at all.

With the utmost respect for the legal debate that we have before us, we should also be cognizant of the needs of patients and health care providers. It has been made clear by many, including the Canadian Nurses Association, the Canadian Medical Association, the Canadian Medical Protective Association and HealthCareCAN that it is highly unlikely health care providers will provide assisted death without federal legislation, creating access issues, which is of course the very thing the Supreme Court, many Canadians and all honourable colleagues wish to see a reality. At some point, there is a very real concern that, without appropriate safeguards in place, vulnerable populations may very well be at risk.

Medical associations, medical authorities, provinces and territories are requesting federal leadership on this highly complex issue, and that is exactly what Bill C-14 provides. It sets out a strong national framework and strikes the necessary balance between the autonomy of people suffering intolerably who seek to obtain a peaceful passing and the protection of those who may be vulnerable due to age, illness, handicap or other factors, such as loneliness.

Honourable colleagues, I share Senator Sinclair's view that this bill is both constitutional and compliant. It is consistent with the Charter but uses language that is broader in scope and rooted in practical language that patients and providers can understand. The government and the other place recognize that this this is just the start. They are not waiting for the mandated review to begin the process of very specific, independent studies referenced in the legislation.

The bill before us meets, in my view, the test of a democratic bill. It undertook significant consultations, which is not rushed in the space of just a few months but in the broader context of the debate that we've been having in Canada over the last several decades.

Our obligation is that we must honour the commitment made, the bill that has been passed with bipartisan support, and we must begin to implement, as quickly as possible, a legislative regime consistent with the Supreme Court ruling and an immediate process of data collection and independent studies.

Over the past several decades, baby boomers — and that includes some of us still — have defined every public policy issue throughout our age cycle. I fully expect that we will continue to do so, and therefore, this issue and other issues of end of life and senior treatment will continue to be before this Parliament and this chamber as we evolve our thinking and societal considerations, as we learn from the research that is being collected, the data being collected, the basis of future policy choices through the consultations that will be launched. And the experience before us and this house over the period of the next number of months and years will indeed cause this issue to be returning to us for further examination and implementation.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

C-14 Aide médicale à mourir

Honorables sénateurs, c'est avec beaucoup d'humilité et une très grande fierté à l'endroit de cette assemblée que j'interviens pour participer au débat. La semaine que je viens de vivre ici a été incroyable, et je sais que c'est aussi le cas pour bon nombre d'entre vous qui avez parlé de votre expérience dans ce domaine.

Au cours du présent débat, nous avons pu voir à l'œuvre la force de la raison et des arguments. Nous avons aussi pu voir la force, tout aussi puissante, de nos sentiments et de nos vécus personnels. En tant que législateurs, nous avons le devoir de faire la synthèse de la raison, de la logique, des anecdotes et des sentiments pour arriver en fin de compte à nous former une opinion individuelle qui, au fil de nos travaux, se conjuguera aux opinions des autres sénateurs pour façonner notre perspective collective.

C'est dans ce contexte que je prends la parole pour participer au présent débat, dont les origines se trouvent dans l'arrêt Carter, comme nous le savons tous. La Cour suprême a demandé au gouvernement, au Parlement, de donner suite à cet arrêt dans un délai d'un an. Puis, pour les raisons que le sénateur Patterson a bien décrites et qui découlent des circonstances particulières de l'année dernière, qui a été une année de changement au Parlement, celui-ci n'a pas eu le temps qu'il aurait normalement eu pour satisfaire à l'exigence de la Cour suprême. Je suis d'avis que, dans le temps dont le Parlement et le gouvernement disposaient, ils sont parvenus à susciter une large participation des parlementaires, des autres acteurs, des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, des populations visées, des personnes handicapées et des juristes. Au Parlement, l'autre Chambre est parvenue, compte tenu de son mode de fonctionnement, à examiner une série de positions et d'amendements pour, en fin de compte, faire le choix, d’une façon non partisane, d'adopter le projet de loi qui nous est maintenant soumis et au sujet duquel nous devons nous acquitter de nos responsabilités.

Je ne vois pas comment nous pourrons terminer notre étude du projet de loi autrement qu'en définissant une position autour de laquelle pourra se constituer un consensus non traditionnel qui transcendera les allégeances partisanes au Sénat. Il nous incombera, au cours des prochains jours, de trouver un mécanisme nous permettant d'y parvenir.

Je tiens à vous dire qu'à mes yeux, cela fait également partie de mes obligations. Je m'engage à collaborer avec vous du mieux que je pourrai, conformément au rôle que je dois jouer, afin que ce projet de loi soit l'occasion, pour le Sénat, de faire la preuve de sa capacité de remplir de son mandat dans le respect des normes les plus élevées qui s'y rattachent.

Des voix : Bravo!

Le sénateur Harder : Bien que certains diront que l'examen parlementaire a été fait à la hâte, le débat a été long; il a été lancé il y a 23 ans, avec l'affaire Rodriguez, et on a fait référence à de nombreuses reprises aux travaux des comités sénatoriaux, en particulier à ceux des sénateurs Nancy Ruth et Larry Campbell, au travail effectué dans les forums de politique publique par les instituts et les groupes professionnels sur toute la question de l'aide médicale à mourir et à la façon dont la société doit composer avec cette nouvelle manière de voir les choses, pas nécessairement dictée par les tribunaux au départ, mais par la société même.

Je dirais que le projet de loi dont nous sommes saisis est un projet de loi démocratique, en ce sens qu'il propose une approche équilibrée et qu'il reflète les divers points de vue des parties concernées et des Canadiens de partout au pays. Je crois que le projet de loi, en ce moment historique, constitue la bonne approche pour notre pays à l'heure actuelle.

Pour la première fois dans l'histoire canadienne, le droit pénal permettrait aux médecins et aux infirmiers praticiens de fournir une aide médicale afin que les patients en voie de mourir, dont les souffrances sont intolérables, puissent mourir paisiblement sans devoir subir une mort lente ou douloureuse. Le projet de loi C-14 inscrirait dans le Code criminel les garanties rigoureuses que la Cour suprême, dans l'arrêt Carter, considérait comme essentielles pour protéger les personnes les plus vulnérables.

Le projet de loi établirait également le cadre d'un régime de surveillance pancanadien qui nous permettrait de recueillir les données requises pour évaluer adéquatement la mise en œuvre de l'aide médicale à mourir.

Le projet de loi est le fruit d'un examen minutieux des besoins sur le plan de l'autonomie personnelle, de l'accès aux services de soins de santé, de la protection des personnes vulnérables et de la liberté de conscience des fournisseurs de soins de santé.

Avec le projet de loi C-14, le gouvernement vise à exempter les fournisseurs de soins de santé des dispositions du Code criminel concernant le suicide assisté et l'homicide, afin de leur permettre d'offrir ou d'aider à offrir une aide médicale à mourir, comme l'a déterminé la Cour suprême.

Le projet de loi définit les critères d'admissibilité à l'aide médicale à mourir. Certaines mesures de protection doivent être prises pour garantir que ces critères sont respectés et que la demande est bel et bien faite sans contrainte. Cela est extrêmement important pour protéger les populations vulnérables. Comme l'a déclaré la ministre de la Santé durant la séance en comité plénier, le projet de loi établit l'obligation de surveiller la prestation de l'aide médicale à mourir pour que nous sachions comment elle se déroule au Canada.

Nous pouvons être certains que le projet de loi appuie l'autonomie des patients en fin de vie tout en protégeant les personnes les plus vulnérables de la société. Il est juste de dire que le projet de loi va trop loin selon certains et qu'il demeure trop timide aux yeux des autres. Certains sénateurs ont demandé notamment ce que signifie l'expression « mort naturelle raisonnablement prévisible ».

Il ne faut pas oublier que ce critère doit être considéré en même temps que tous les autres, qui exigent que la personne soit atteinte d'une maladie, d'une affection ou d'un handicap graves et incurables; que sa situation médicale se caractérise par « un déclin avancé et irréversible de ses capacités » et que son état lui cause des souffrances physiques ou psychologiques persistantes qui lui sont intolérables et qui ne peuvent être apaisées dans des conditions qu'elle juge acceptables.

Le caractère raisonnablement prévisible de la mort naturelle correspond au moment où, étant donné tous les facteurs contribuant au problème de santé de la personne, il est devenu assez clair que celle-ci se dirige inéluctablement vers la mort, même en l'absence de diagnostic clair ou précis sur l'évolution de la maladie ou le temps qu'il lui reste. Ce critère indique clairement l'intention du projet de loi : offrir l'option de l'aide médicale à mourir aux personnes capables dont l'état se caractérise par un déclin irréversible vers la mort.

Dans certains cas, la mort peut être prévisible en raison d'un problème de santé mortel. Toutefois, la mort peut aussi être prévisible en raison d'une combinaison de circonstances et de conditions, dont aucune, prise isolément, n'est mortelle ou ne risque de causer la mort.

La ministre de la Santé a expliqué aux honorables sénateurs que les professionnels de la santé disposent des connaissances, de la formation et de l'expérience professionnelles nécessaires pour évaluer l'ensemble des circonstances pouvant conduire à la mort naturelle d'un patient. Les critères forment un tout qui a été conçu dans le but d'orienter et d'aider les fournisseurs de soins médicaux à évaluer l'admissibilité d'un patient, tout en leur accordant la souplesse nécessaire pour faire preuve de jugement clinique.

Cependant, les évaluations de ce genre ne relèvent pas d'une science exacte. C'est pourquoi le projet de loi prévoit d'autres mesures de protection, comme le fait d'exiger que les fournisseurs de soins agissent avec la connaissance, les soins et l'habilité raisonnables et en conformité avec les lois, les règles ou les normes provinciales applicables, et que le patient soit évalué par deux médecins ou infirmiers praticiens.

Pour ce qui est de la liberté de conscience, le gouvernement s'est engagé à collaborer avec les provinces et les territoires pour mettre sur pied un système de coordination des soins de fin de vie, qui permettrait d'établir un équilibre efficace et pratique entre, d'une part, la liberté de conscience des médecins et, d'autre part, les intérêts des Canadiens souhaitant avoir accès à l'aide médicale à mourir. Je signale également que le Comité de la justice et des droits de la personne a amendé le projet de loi C-14 pour que le préambule fasse état plus clairement de la liberté de conscience, pour qu'une disposition du Code criminel souligne l'importance de la liberté de religion et de conscience garantie par la Charte et pour qu'il soit précisé dans le corps même du projet de loi que rien n'oblige qui que ce soit à agir contre ses convictions profondes.

Le cadre régissant l'aide médicale à mourir au Canada doit tenir compte d'un certain nombre de facteurs, dont, bien entendu, notre cadre constitutionnel et le fait que les Canadiens vivent dans un pays très vaste, qui compte des régions éloignées et rurales, puisque c'est sur ces facteurs que reposera la mise en œuvre d'une approche valide sur le plan constitutionnel.

D'un bout à l'autre du pays, les infirmiers praticiens fournissent un éventail complet de services de santé de grande qualité, tout particulièrement dans les régions éloignées et rurales, où il manque de médecins.

Selon l'Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada, on envoie depuis longtemps du personnel infirmier en pratique avancée desservir les besoins en matière de soins de santé primaires des 9 millions de personnes habitant dans des collectivités rurales ou éloignées. Neuf millions de personnes, c'est un quart de la population canadienne. C'est l'une des raisons pour lesquelles le projet de loi C-14 prévoit des exemptions pour que les médecins autant que les infirmiers praticiens puissent offrir l'aide médicale à mourir. Les infirmiers praticiens, ou autres infirmiers de désignation équivalente, sont autorisés dans bien des provinces à assumer des fonctions médicales nécessaires pour offrir une aide médicale à mourir. À l'instar de leurs collègues médecins, les infirmiers praticiens ont un grand champ d'activités et disposent de l'autonomie et de l'indépendance nécessaires pour effectuer une évaluation de l'état de santé, poser un diagnostic et proposer un traitement en fonction des besoins du patient, dont l'aide médicale à mourir.

Exclure les infirmiers praticiens de la responsabilité pénale, comme le projet de loi cherche à le faire, donnerait aux provinces et aux territoires une autre option pour faciliter l'accès à l'aide médicale à mourir dans les régions mal desservies.

En ce qui concerne les demandes anticipées, nous nous sommes intéressés aux initiatives mises en œuvre à l'étranger et aux résultats de celles-ci. Des trois pays d'Europe où on a le droit de faire une demande anticipée d'aide médicale à mourir, seuls les Pays-Bas autorisent les personnes conscientes, mais incapables d'exprimer leur volonté, comme les patients atteints de démence ou de la maladie d'Alzheimer, à présenter une telle demande. En Belgique et au Luxembourg, une demande anticipée est seulement autorisée lorsque la personne est inconsciente et que son état est jugé irréversible.

Soyons clairs : ce n'est pas ce que cherchent les partisans des demandes anticipées au Canada. D'après l'expérience des Pays-Bas, il semblerait que les médecins sont en général réticents à administrer une aide médicale à mourir aux patients atteints de démence lorsque ceux-ci ne sont plus en mesure d'exprimer leur volonté. Voilà qui soulève de sérieuses questions sur la perspective d'autoriser une procédure que les médecins et les infirmiers praticiens au Canada risquent de ne pas vouloir effectuer.

L'Association médicale canadienne qui, comme vous le savez, représente 83 000 médecins au Canada, a fait écho à ces préoccupations. Elle a expliqué que, dans la pratique actuelle, même dans les situations les moins complexes, les directives anticipées sont extrêmement difficiles à appliquer. Ajouter l'aide médicale à mourir parmi les actes visés par des directives anticipées ne ferait rien pour simplifier les choses. L'AMC a souligné les difficultés potentielles qui pourraient être liées à l'exécution des demandes anticipées dans des circonstances d'une telle complexité, particulièrement au cours des premières années où les médecins devront s'habituer à fournir de l'aide médicale à mourir. De l'avis de l'AMC, il sera vraisemblablement fort difficile pour de nombreux médecins de souscrire à cette pratique.

Voilà pourquoi le gouvernement s'est engagé à examiner cette question complexe. Je tiens également à féliciter le Comité de la justice et des droits de la personne de l'autre endroit d'avoir amendé le projet de loi de façon à ce que les ministres soient tenus de faire réaliser une étude indépendante sur la question dans les 180 jours suivant la sanction royale.

Enfin, je souligne qu'il est crucial que cette mesure législative fédérale soit mise en place dans les meilleurs délais. Le 7 juin, il n'y aura pas de cadre législatif fédéral sur l'aide médicale à mourir au Canada. Par conséquent, mis à part au Québec, aucune mesure de sauvegarde aussi explicite que le Code criminel et aucun système de surveillance pour la collecte de données ne seront en place alors que la Cour suprême a statué que ces éléments étaient nécessaires pour réduire les risques d'abus et d'erreurs.

L'incertitude quant à l'admissibilité à l'aide médicale à mourir demeurerait étant donné que les juristes, les universitaires et les tribunaux continuent d'être en désaccord sur la signification des paramètres énoncés dans l'arrêt Carter. Cette situation entraînerait un manque d'uniformité dans l'application de l'aide médicale à mourir à l'échelle du pays, et cette imprécision sur le plan juridique quant à la portée de l'exemption pénale créée dans l'arrêt Carter pourrait inciter certains médecins à refuser d'aider leurs patients à mourir alors qu'ils seraient autrement disposés à fournir une telle aide.

Comme la ministre de la Santé nous l'a dit ici même l'autre jour, cela pourrait avoir des incidences sur les Canadiens qui attendent d'avoir accès à l'aide médicale à mourir. Autrement dit, les droits des Canadiens qui souffrent sont inextricablement liés au fait de procurer une certitude juridique aux professionnels de la santé.

Plusieurs personnes ont affirmé, tant dans l'enceinte du Sénat qu'à l'extérieur, qu'il n'est pas nécessaire de tenir compte de l'échéance imposée par la Cour suprême puisqu'il existe des lignes directrices provinciales. Je reconnais que la Terre n'arrêtera pas de tourner en cas de non-respect de l'échéance, mais nous avons la responsabilité de reconnaître et de comprendre que les normes et les protections adoptées varient grandement selon les provinces et les territoires.

À titre d'exemple, le projet de loi C-14 contient des exemptions explicites à l'intention des infirmiers praticiens, d'autres fournisseurs et de personnes qui aident à offrir l'aide médicale à mourir à la demande expresse du patient. En comparaison, les lignes directrices publiées par les organismes de réglementation de la profession médicale ne touchent que les médecins.

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse et à Terre-Neuve, les personnes atteintes de troubles mentaux pourraient être admissibles à l'aide médicale à mourir. Dix provinces et territoires n'exigent pas que le demandeur réside sur leur territoire pour être admissible. En Ontario et en Colombie-Britannique, les lignes directrices ne mentionnent pas d'âge, ce qui laisse entendre qu'on pourrait étudier la demande d'un mineur mature. Le Québec, l'Île- du-Prince-Édouard, la Nouvelle-Écosse et Terre-Neuve ne précisent aucune période d'attente. Enfin, seulement deux administrations, l'Alberta et le Yukon, exigent deux témoins. La plupart des autres provinces et territoires n'en exigent qu'un, ou même aucun.

Bien que le débat juridique mérite tout notre respect, nous devons aussi tenir compte des besoins des patients et des fournisseurs de soins de santé. D'après de nombreux organismes — parmi lesquels l'Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada, l'Association médicale canadienne, l'Association canadienne de protection médicale et SoinsSantéCAN — les fournisseurs de soins de santé ne fourniront probablement pas d'aide médicale à mourir tant qu'il n'y aura pas de loi fédérale, ce qui bloquerait du coup l'accès à ces services, à l'opposé de ce que souhaitent la Cour suprême, de nombreux Canadiens et les honorables sénateurs. On craint grandement que l'absence de mesures de protection appropriées puisse mettre en péril des populations vulnérables.

Les associations médicales, les autorités médicales, les provinces et les territoires demandent au gouvernement fédéral de faire preuve de leadership dans ce dossier extrêmement complexe, et c'est exactement ce qu'accomplit le projet de loi C-14. Il établit un cadre national solide et trouve un juste équilibre entre l'autonomie des personnes aux prises avec des souffrances intolérables qui souhaitent mourir dans la quiétude, et la protection des personnes rendues vulnérables par l'âge, la maladie, un handicap ou d'autres facteurs comme la solitude.

Honorables sénateurs, à l'instar du sénateur Sinclair, je suis d'avis que le projet de loi est constitutionnel et conforme à la décision Carter. Il respecte la Charte, mais utilise une formulation dont la portée est plus vaste dans une langue que les patients et les fournisseurs de soins comprennent. Le gouvernement et l'autre endroit reconnaissent qu'il s'agit simplement d'un point de départ. Ils n'attendront pas le moment de l'examen obligatoire pour entreprendre les études indépendantes dont il est question dans la mesure législative.

Selon moi, le projet de loi dont nous sommes saisis satisfait aux critères d'un projet de loi démocratique. Il découle de vastes consultations qui n'ont pas été faites à la hâte en l'espace de quelques mois, mais dans le contexte général du débat tenu au Canada sur la question au cours des dernières décennies.

Nous avons l'obligation d'honorer l'engagement pris, le projet de loi ayant été adopté avec un appui bipartite. Nous devons mettre en place le plus rapidement possible un régime législatif conforme à la décision de la Cour suprême et entreprendre sans tarder la collecte de données et les études indépendantes.

Au cours des dernières décennies, les baby-boomers — ce qui inclut certains d'entre nous — ont défini toutes les questions d'intérêt public propres à leur génération. Je ne doute pas qu'il continuera d'en être ainsi. Par conséquent, le Parlement et le Sénat continueront d'examiner cette question et les autres qui se rapportent à la fin de la vie et au traitement des aînés en tenant compte de l'évolution de notre mode de pensée et de nos considérations sociales, de ce que nous aurons appris de la recherche et des données recueillies ainsi que des consultations effectuées, qui constitueront le fondement de nos futurs choix en matière de politiques publiques. L'expérience des prochains mois et des prochaines années fera en sorte que nous serons appelés à réétudier la question et à prendre de nouvelles mesures.