This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

C-14 Medical Assistance in Dying (Amendment)

Thank you, honourable senators. It was not my intention to rise with respect to this amendment, as I had ample opportunity last Friday to make my position clear with respect to this bill, but I felt I ought to respond to some of the comments made, just for the record and before senators have the opportunity to vote on this amendment.

I particularly want to respond to the suggestion made in the course of the debate that the minister was misled by officials in the Department of Justice.

I know the minister. The minister has been here taking questions, and I don't believe that the minister is parroting any particular brief for any particular official in the department but, rather, informed by her own legal background and, as Attorney General of Canada, the resources that she has relied on in developing and making a recommendation to cabinet. The sources available to her, as they have been available to the committee and to senators, show us that there is a wide range of legal views. She has formed a view, and she has expressed freely and confidently in this chamber that this bill is Charter- compliant.

Now, it's not unreasonable, when ministers form an area of public policy, that they want to be assured — as would the Prime Minister, cabinet and indeed both chambers of Parliament — that it is right. Senator Joyal spoke in his comments about the importance of our chamber reflecting the protection of Charter rights and Charter compliance. So it is absolutely primordial that ministers be confident that the legislation they bring forward is Charter-compliant. I want to re-emphasize to all senators that the ministry's and the minister's views, and indeed the views of parliamentarians in the other chamber, was that the bill before us is Charter-compliant.

That brings us to a broader question of public policy. Public policy can be framed in various ways. The minister spoke of the public policy choices that she made in conversations and discussions with, first of all, her colleague the Minister of Health, and other ministers, and then indeed before the whole chamber, and here in our discussions as well.

The objective of public policy discussion is to ensure that the legislative framework being brought forward is not just Charter- compliant but is the result of a good deal of public consultations, a good deal of policy, guideline and detailed operational considerations, so that an act, on being adopted, is implementable. It's not unreasonable that there have been broad engagements with the medical community and practitioners, broad engagement with the vulnerable, disabled community, those who have concerns for the disadvantaged and concerns about the operating of a particular new approach and first-time effort in the area of medical assistance in dying.

I think it's important for us — particularly as we deal with the most fundamental amendment before us, in my view, which is the amendment with respect to eligibility — that we not confuse the confidence with which the ministry brings forward what they believe is a Charter-compliant proposal. We can have our disputes as to whether it's the right public policy, but I would ask that you respect the Attorney General of Canada as not being misled by nameless officials in her department.

I also want to remind us that while we are dealing with one clause, we ought to consider that there are other aspects of this bill that interact with this clause, and that by no means is this clause alone defining the public policy of the bill. The public policy of the bill speaks to, later on, safeguards — and I was pleased to hear Senator Carignan's speech on safeguards — but it also interacts with clause 9, which predicts that there will be other discussions, inquiries and opportunities to study further some of the issues that are before us in this evolution of consideration for how we deal with medical assistance in dying.

So in closing, I want simply to reaffirm with confidence that the ministry believes, through its considerations, its advice and its deliberations, that this bill is Charter-compliant. Let there be no mistake about that as we vote on this amendment.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

C-14 Aide médicale à mourir (Amendement)

Je vous remercie, honorables sénateurs. Je n'avais pas l'intention de prendre la parole au sujet de l'amendement, car j'ai eu amplement l'occasion, vendredi dernier, d'exposer clairement ma position sur le projet de loi, mais je me suis senti obligé de réagir à certaines observations formulées avant que les sénateurs puissent se prononcer sur l'amendement.

Je veux surtout répondre à l'insinuation faite au cours du débat selon laquelle la ministre aurait été induite en erreur par les fonctionnaires du ministère de la Justice.

Je connais la ministre. Elle est venue ici pour répondre à des questions, et je ne crois pas qu'elle se contente de répéter des notes qui auraient été préparées pour elle par certains fonctionnaires de son ministère. Je suis plutôt d'avis qu'elle se fonde sur sa propre formation juridique et, à titre de procureure générale du Canada, sur les ressources qu'elle a employées pour formuler une recommandation au Cabinet. Les sources à sa disposition, auxquelles les membres du comité et les sénateurs ont eu accès, montrent qu'il existe tout un éventail d'opinions juridiques. Elle s'est fait sa propre idée, et elle a affirmé sans contrainte et avec confiance au Sénat que le projet de loi était conforme à la Charte.

Lorsque les ministres travaillent à l'élaboration de politiques publiques, il n'est pas déraisonnable pour eux de vouloir avoir l'assurance — tout comme le premier ministre, le Cabinet et les deux Chambres du Parlement — qu'ils font bien les choses. Le sénateur Joyal a parlé dans son intervention de l'importance pour le Sénat d'assurer la protection des droits garantis par la Charte et le respect de cette dernière. Il est donc absolument primordial que les ministres aient la certitude que la mesure législative qu'ils présentent respecte la Charte. Je tiens à répéter de nouveau à tous les sénateurs que les fonctionnaires du ministère, la ministre elle-même, ainsi que les parlementaires de l'autre endroit, sont d'avis que le projet de loi dont nous sommes saisis est conforme à la Charte.

Abordons maintenant la question des politiques publiques de manière plus générale. Elles peuvent être élaborées de différentes manières. La ministre a parlé des choix qu'elle a faits dans ce domaine lors de conversations et de discussions avec, tout d'abord, la ministre de la Santé et d'autres ministres, puis devant toute la Chambre, ainsi que lors de nos débats ici.

Le débat sur les politiques publiques a pour but de s'assurer que le cadre législatif proposé ne soit pas seulement conforme à la Charte, mais qu'il soit aussi l'aboutissement d'un bon nombre de consultations publiques et d'un bon nombre de considérations liées aux politiques, aux lignes directrices et aux opérations. C'est seulement alors que la loi adoptée peut être mise en œuvre. Il n'est pas déraisonnable de tenir de vastes consultations auprès de la communauté des médecins et des praticiens, auprès de la communauté des personnes vulnérables et handicapées, et auprès de ceux qui se soucient de ces personnes et de l'adoption d'une nouvelle approche et de mesures sans précédent dans le domaine de l'aide médicale à mourir.

Je pense qu'il est important pour nous — surtout au moment où nous nous penchons sur l'amendement le plus fondamental dont nous sommes saisis qui, à mon avis, concerne l'admissibilité — de ne pas confondre la confiance dont le ministère fait preuve en proposant un texte qu'il estime conforme à la Charte. Nous pouvons avoir nos différents sur l'opportunité d'une telle politique publique, mais je vous demanderais de reconnaître que la procureure générale du Canada n'a pas été induite en erreur par des fonctionnaires anonymes de son ministère.

Je tiens également à vous rappeler que si nous ne traitons que d'un seul article, nous devons penser qu'il a un lien avec d'autres aspects du projet de loi et qu'en aucun cas il ne définit à lui seul le volet de politique publique du projet de loi. La politique publique a également trait aux mesures de protection — j'ai d'ailleurs été heureux d'entendre l'intervention du sénateur Carignan à ce sujet — mais aussi à l'article 9, qui laisse prévoir qu'il y aura d'autres discussions, interrogations et possibilités d'approfondir certains des points qui nous amèneront à réévaluer la gestion de l'aide médicale à mourir.

Pour conclure, je tiens seulement à réaffirmer ma conviction que, à la lumière de son étude, des avis qu'elle a reçus et des délibérations auxquelles elle a participé, la ministre croit que ce projet de loi est conforme à la Charte. Ne nous méprenons pas à ce sujet lorsque nous voterons sur cet amendement.