This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Speech - Official Visit to Ukraine

Honourable senators, Martin Luther King taught us that the arc of history is long but it does bend towards justice. With that analogy in mind, I would like to report to this chamber on a visit that Senator Plett and I paid last week to Ukraine, where we saw Canadians, Ukrainians and indeed people from many other countries holding on to that arc of history and trying their best to bend it towards justice more quickly than otherwise.

The soil of Ukraine offered refuge to my ancestors in the late 18th century. A century and a quarter later, in 1924, it was Canada that accepted my parents as refugees from the Soviet Union, due to persecution in that homeland.

Our visit was to represent the Government of Canada at the fifteenth anniversary celebration of the Mennonite Centre in Molochansk, the former Halbstadt, which was the centre of an historic Mennonite settlement in the Molochna River valley, which was virtually wiped out in the 1930s during the Stalin purges and earlier in the revolution.

But before I report on that segment of our visit, I want to refer to some of the people that we were able to meet with who on that arc of history are seeking to bend the arc more firmly towards justice.

As it was an official visit, I was able to be briefed by Lieutenant-Colonel Niven of the Joint Task Force-Ukraine from Canada's Department of National Defence, providing support to Ukraine in the area of military training. I was able to visit the police force in Kiev, where a program provided through international assistance from Canada is literally reforming the police effort of that city with a young, 28-year-old chief of police who is determined to deal with the issues of corruption that have been endemic to the police force there and otherwise.

The Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs spoke about the Ukrainian views on the process of engaging the international community with respect to the East, but I was particularly impressed in meeting with the Acting Minister of Health, Uliana Suprun, who is a doctor and a returned member of the diaspora seeking to make the Department of Health more relevant to the basic health needs of Ukrainians. I had the pleasure of assisting at the signing with the Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources of an agreement with Natural Resources Canada to provide geological survey support to Ukraine as it seeks to build the capacity for mining and natural resource development in that country. Both governments are working as best they can to move that arc.

International organizations, whether it was the OSCE, the Council of Europe, the International Republican Institute, NATO as well as various UN human rights and humanitarian organizations, all spoke of the desire to build capacity for civil society.

I want to briefly mention civil society, if I could, and Senator Plett will continue with respect to the celebrations that we participated in. It is civil society that will actually strengthen the capacity of good governance in Ukraine, and it is civil society that we must, in our attention, develop a keener interest in.

I will close by simply referencing my favourite theologian and public thinker, Reinhold Niebuhr, who said: "Man's capacity for justice makes democracy possible, but man's inclination to injustice makes democracy necessary." Nothing could be more apt in a setting for our visit to Ukraine, and I thank Senator Plett for his company.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

La Visite Officialle En Ukraine

Honorables sénateurs, Martin Luther King a dit que l'arc de l'histoire est long, mais qu'il penche vers la justice. Avec cette analogie en tête, j'aimerais faire rapport au Sénat de la visite que le sénateur Plett et moi avons faite en Ukraine la semaine dernière. Nous y avons vu des Canadiens, des Ukrainiens et des ressortissants de plusieurs autres pays s'accrocher à cet arc de l'histoire et faire de leur mieux pour le faire pencher plus rapidement vers la justice.

L'Ukraine a offert refuge à mes ancêtres à la fin du XVIIIe siècle. Cent vingt-cinq ans plus tard, en 1924, c'est le Canada qui a accueilli mes parents, qui fuyaient les persécutions du régime soviétique dans leur pays.

Nous nous sommes rendus en Ukraine pour représenter le gouvernement du Canada à l'occasion de la célébration du 50e anniversaire du centre mennonite de Molochansk, anciennement Halbstadt, qui était au centre d'un peuplement mennonite dans la vallée de la rivière Molochna ayant été essentiellement rayé de la carte après les premières années de la révolution et les purges staliniennes des années 1930.

Avant de faire rapport de cette partie de notre visite, je tiens à parler de certaines des personnes que nous avons pu rencontrer et qui tentent de faire pencher l'arc de l'histoire un peu plus résolument vers la justice.

Comme il s'agissait d'une visite officielle, j'ai assisté à une séance d'information donnée par le lieutenant-colonel Niven, du ministère de la Défense nationale du Canada. Il fait partie de la Force opérationnelle interarmées — Ukraine, qui aide l'Ukraine dans le domaine de l'entraînement militaire. J'ai pu visiter le service de police de Kiev, où un programme d'aide internationale canadien transforme littéralement les efforts de la police de cette ville grâce à une jeune chef de police de 28 ans, qui est déterminé à régler les problèmes de corruption qui sont endémiques dans la police et ailleurs.

Le sous-ministre des Affaires étrangères a parlé du point de vue de l'Ukraine sur le processus de consultation de la communauté internationale concernant l'Est, mais j'ai été particulièrement impressionné par ma rencontre avec la ministre de la Santé par intérim, Uliana Suprun, médecin et ancienne membre de la diaspora rentrée au pays. Elle cherche à adapter davantage le mandat du ministère de la Santé aux besoins fondamentaux des Ukrainiens. J'ai eu le plaisir d'assister à la signature, avec le ministre de l'Écologie et des Ressources naturelles, d'une entente avec Ressources naturelles Canada en vue d'aider l'Ukraine, qui cherche à développer ses activités d'exploitation minière et de ressources naturelles et à faire des inventaires géologiques. Les deux gouvernements font donc le maximum pour courber cet arc.

Des organismes internationaux — que ce soit l'Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe, le Conseil de l'Europe, l'International Republican Institute, l'OTAN ou divers organismes humanitaires et de défense des droits de la personne de l'ONU — ont exprimé le désir de renforcer les capacités pour la société civile.

J'aimerais mentionner brièvement la société civile, si je le peux, et le sénateur Plett parlera des fêtes auxquelles nous avons pris part. C'est la société civile qui accroîtra la possibilité d'une bonne gouvernance en Ukraine, et c'est la société civile à laquelle nous devons nous intéresser davantage.

Je vais conclure en citant simplement mon théologien et penseur préféré, Reinhold Niebuhr, qui a dit : « La capacité de l'homme pour la justice rend la démocratie possible, mais l'inclination de l'homme pour l'injustice rend la démocratie nécessaire. » On ne pourrait mieux dire dans le cadre de notre visite en Ukraine et je remercie le sénateur Plett de m'avoir accompagné.