This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

New contingent of Independent Senators to be Sworn in today

Canada’s Senate will officially welcome today the first of a new contingent of Independent Senators selected through an arm’s length, merit-based process that preserves their autonomy from party caucuses.   

The  six new senators being sworn in today come from several walks of life and range from a  police chief and a trade expert to a museum curator. They are the first six of a group of 21 Senators who have been selected under a new non-partisan, merit-based process. Another group of eight will be seated tomorrow.

“These   high-quality independent-thinking individuals will help transform the Senate into the Chamber of sober second thought contemplated by Canada’s founders,” said Peter Harder, the Government Representative in the Senate. “They are not only experts in their fields of endeavour, they are also volunteers and leaders in their communities.”

The current government has decided that it will no longer directly appoint Senators to sit in a government caucus and will instead rely on advice from a selection committee made up of prominent Canadians. The new standings in the Senate will now include 44 Independents, 40 Conservatives nominated by previous governments and another 21 members who had previously been members of the Liberal Party Senate caucus.

Senator Harder said the new Senators’ non-partisan status will allow them to more-independently review and amend legislation without fear or favour of a party caucus. Such a system also gives Canadians more confidence that the members of the upper chamber are not being directed by partisan interests in the Senate or from the House of Commons.

The six new Senators being sworn in today are:

Yuen Pau Woo, British Columbia; former president and CEO of the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada, champion for open trade and promoter of Chinese art and culture in Canada.

Patricia Bovey, Manitoba; An art historian, guest curator and former director of major Canadian art galleries.

René Cormier, New Brunswick; a leader within the international Francophonie community and professional in Canada’s arts and culture community.

Nancy Hartling, New Brunswick; Founder of St. James Court Inc., an affordable housing complex for single parents and advocate for women’s issues.

Gwen Boniface, Ontario; The first woman appointed as Commissioner of the Ontario Provincial Police, Senator Boniface is a lawyer, educator and is the recipient of the United Nations Peacekeeping Medal.

Kim Pate, Ontario; A teacher and lawyer, Senator Pate is Executive Director of the Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies, holds five honourary degrees and was appointed to the Order of Canada in 2015.

For more information, please contact:

Brian Laghi

Director of Communications

Office of the Government Representative in the Senate

613-995-9256 o

613-462-9011 c

Brian.Laghi@sen.parl.gc.ca

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Nouveau contingent de sénateurs indépendants assermentés aujourd’hui

Le Sénat du Canada accueille aujourd’hui officiellement le premier bloc d’un nouveau contingent de sénateurs indépendants choisis dans le cadre d’un processus axé sur le mérite et sans lien de dépendance avec le gouvernement, de manière qu’ils puissent conserver leur autonomie par rapport aux caucus des partis. 

Les six nouveaux sénateurs et sénatrices assermentés aujourd’hui proviennent de divers milieux de la société et varient d’une commissaire de la police, à l’expert en commerce, en passant par un leader de la francophonie canadienne et des arts et une conservatrice de musée. Il s’agit des six premiers d’un groupe de 21 sénateurs qui ont été choisis dans le cadre d’un nouveau processus impartial et axé sur le mérite. Un autre groupe de huit sénateurs sera assermenté demain.

« Voilà le genre de personnes de grande qualité et indépendantes d’esprit qui permettront de transformer le Sénat et d’en faire la Chambre de réflexion qu’avaient envisagé les fondateurs du Canada », a déclaré Peter Harder, représentant du gouvernement au Sénat. « Ce sont non seulement des experts dans leur domaine, mais aussi des bénévoles et des chefs de file au sein de leur collectivité. » 

Le gouvernement actuel a décidé qu’il ne nommera plus directement les sénateurs comme membre d’un caucus gouvernemental, mais qu’il écoutera plutôt l’avis d’un comité de sélection constitué d’éminents Canadiens. Selon la nouvelle position des partis au Sénat, il y a maintenant 44 indépendants,  40 conservateurs et 21 autres sénateurs qui ont auparavant été membres du caucus du parti libéral au Sénat.

Selon le sénateur Harder, le nouveau statut impartial des nouveaux sénateurs leur permettra d’examiner et d’amender les textes législatifs plus librement et sans crainte ni attente de faveur du caucus d’un parti. Ce système est aussi de nature à donner davantage confiance aux Canadiens étant donné que les membres de la Chambre haute ne sont pas guidés par des intérêts partisans du Sénat ou de la Chambre des communes.

Les six nouveaux sénateurs assermentés aujourd’hui sont les suivants :

Yuen Pau Woo, Colombie-Britannique; ex-président et chef de la direction de la Fondation Asie Pacifique du Canada, champion de l’ouverture des échanges commerciaux et promoteur de la culture et de l’art chinois au Canada.

Patricia Bovey, Manitoba; historienne de l’art, conservatrice invitée et ex-directrice de grandes galeries d’art canadiennes.

René Cormier, Nouveau-Brunswick; chef de file de la Francophonie internationale et professionnel de la collectivité des arts et de la culture au Canada.

Nancy Hartling, Nouveau-Brunswick; fondatrice de St. James Court Inc., un ensemble de logements abordables pour les familles monoparentales et défenseure des droits des femmes.

Gwen Boniface, Ontario; La première femme à être nommée commissaire de la Police provincial de l’Ontario, la sénatrice Boniface est avocate et formatrice et elle a également reçu la Médaille des Nations Unies pour le maintien de la paix.

Kim Pate, Ontario; Enseignante et avocate, la sénatrice Pate est directrice exécutive de l’Association canadienne des Sociétés Elizabeth Fry et elle a reçu cinq diplômes honorifiques, et a été nommée membre de l’Ordre du Canada en 2015.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec:

Brian Laghi

Directeur des communications

Bureau du représentant du gouvernement au Sénat

613-995-9256 (bur.)

613-462-9011 (cell.)

Brian.Laghi@sen.parl.gc.ca