This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Speech on C-7: new labour relations framework for RCMP

Speech to the Senate on May 18, 2017

Honourable senators, I rise to speak to the motion to accept the position of the other place with respect to Bill C-7, a bill that provides a new labour relations framework for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and reservists. I believe that this bill will bring the RCMP, an iconic Canadian institution, into the modern era and demonstrate to members and reservists who serve Canadians from coast to coast to coast that we value their service and dedication, and their work on behalf of all of us in both small and large communities.

This bill will mean that, for the first time in the RCMP's long and storied past, members will have a collective bargaining model tailored to the RCMP — a model that balances organizational interests with individuals' freedom of association, a value enshrined in Canada's Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

This bill, which has resulted in this message, is also an example of the Senate of Canada doing its job of sober second thought, and fulfilling this chamber's complementary function to that of the House of Commons. Let me begin by thanking Senator Campbell, the bill's sponsor, for the benefit of his hard-nosed determination to get the bill right. I would also thank the Standing Senate Committee on National Security and Defence for its diligence and thorough examination of the bill.

The committee listened to several hours of testimony from many different stakeholders bringing different and often opposing perspectives. Both Senators Campbell and Carignan, the bill's critic, raised important issues — opportunities, as it turned out, for improvement to the original legislation.

It was Senator Carignan who said the following:

Who knows? Perhaps we will find ways to improve this bill, since the Senate has a duty to ensure that bills are consistent with our country's legal framework, including the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

The critics and the bill sponsor worked together and with committee members, keeping the best interests of the RCMP as an organization front and centre. Naturally, that includes the best interests of the women and men who risk their lives on behalf of Canadians to, as their motto states, "Maintiens le droit" (defend the law).

As a result of this good work, the Senate improved the bill. This chamber sent back to the other place a bill that was stronger, and I'm very pleased that the message from the other place addresses key concerns raised by the Senate.

At a general level, Bill C-7 has several key elements, which reflect the clear preferences expressed by RCMP members during consultations with members that occurred in the summer of 2015. Members were clear that they wanted a labour relations framework that provided for a single, national bargaining unit; a union primarily focused on representing RCMP members; and the recourse to binding arbitration if a collective agreement cannot be negotiated.

Bill C-7 creates this framework. In addition, with this message, Bill C-7 removes RCMP-specific restrictions on what may be included in a collective agreement or an arbitral award.

Second, it puts in place a more targeted management rights clause to better define the authorities that the RCMP Commissioner needs to ensure effective police operations.

These two amendments, taken together, broaden the scope of what can be discussed and potentially incorporated into a collective agreement. These subjects could include matters commonly associated with harassment and workplace wellness, appointments and appraisals, and measures to mitigate the impact of discharges and demotions of RCMP members.

These two amendments, I would emphasize, effectively address the major criticisms of Bill C-7 as originally drafted and presented to this chamber.

This chamber has made more meaningful individual RCMP members' Charter-protected freedom of expression, while balancing those interests with the legitimate imperatives of the RCMP as an organization.

Without doubt, honourable senators, the government has listened to the concerns raised here and expanded what may be included in a collective agreement or an arbitral award. These include rates of pay, hours of work, and leave provisions, such as designated paid holidays, vacation leave, sick leave and parental leave. It also allows proposals related to matters that were covered by the RCMP-specific restrictions in Bill C-7 to now be negotiable.

These amendments will help set the stage for meaningful discussions in good faith around the bargaining table on issues of great importance to the workplace well-being of RCMP members and reservists. In Canada's one hundred and fiftieth year, and the RCMP's one hundred and forty-fourth year, it's about time.

There are certain provisions that are not on the table because, quite frankly, Canadians cannot afford to be without the services of the RCMP. For that reason, Bill C-7 prohibits RCMP members and reservists from striking, and should there be an impasse in collective negotiations, the bill calls for binding arbitration as a dispute resolution mechanism.

In addition, as I explained when we last discussed this bill, since 1967, matters that are of broad cross-sectional interest, such as pensions, are excluded from bargaining and dealt with under other legislation to ensure that the public interest is taken into account. Pensions therefore are dealt with under the Public Service Superannuation Act.

Further, the federal government has traditionally consulted with employee representatives on pension issues and is committed to continuing this practice, particularly with respect to the RCMP. In the case of the RCMP, the requirement for a Pension Advisory Committee is enshrined in the RCMP Superannuation Act.

This committee, which consists of RCMP regular members and representatives of RCMP senior management, makes recommendations on the administration, design and funding of the pension benefits.

Honourable senators, this system has been in place for over 40 years, since the inception of collective bargaining in the federal public sector.

It is the same system in place for the rest of the public service. It has been very effective and provides a good replacement income post-retirement for our dedicated men and women in uniform.

Let me explain why the government cannot accept the requirement for a mandatory secret ballot vote for the certification of a bargaining agent to represent RCMP members and reservists.

The government believes there should be choice between secret ballot and a card check system. A secret-ballot-only system is inconsistent with providing a fair and balanced process for certification and properly recognizing the role of bargaining agents in that process.

Bill C-4 puts the discretion of certification back with the Public Service Labour Relations Board whether there will be a secret ballot or a card check system. The board will ensure that members' interests are reflected in the choices made. The government also disagreed with expanding the mandate of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board to hear grievances on a wider range of matters relating to terms and conditions of employment. In fact, such an expansion would create duplicative grievance processes for RCMP members, under the RCMP Act and the PSLRA.

This could potentially lead to conflicting decisions and undermine the commissioner's ability to ensure effective police operations. The RCMP members' right to file grievances and appeals to address workplace issues is best served to be administered pursuant to the RCMP Act.

It's clear that the government has gone to considerable lengths to answer our Senate colleagues' important questions.

The government is committed to supporting RCMP members and reservists by providing them with a meaningful process for collective bargaining. With this message, I submit to this chamber that the RCMP will have that meaningful process for members to exercise their freedom of association.

In closing, I would like to end with highly anecdotal, yet deeply compelling, evidence of this chamber's work with respect to Bill C-7. According to a well-trusted source in Newfoundland, over the last weekend, in reference to the sponsor of the bill, two RCMP officers in their squad car reportedly remarked, "You the man, Larry."

I agree with them. Senator Campbell is the man. I look forward to this chamber debating and reflecting on this message, and bringing the RCMP into a 21st-century labour relations situation.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Discours au Sénat: Projet de loi C-7

Discours au Sénat le 18 mai, 2017

Honorables sénateurs, j'aimerais parler de la motion tendant à accepter la position de l'autre endroit concernant le projet de loi C- 7, qui définit le nouveau cadre régissant les relations de travail des membres et des réservistes de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. Selon moi, le projet de loi C-7 permettra à la vénérable institution canadienne qu'est la GRC d'entrer dans l'ère moderne, en plus de prouver aux membres et aux réservistes qui y travaillent et qui se mettent au service des Canadiens d'un océan à l'autre que nous sommes reconnaissants des services qu'ils rendent à leur pays, du dévouement dont ils font montre et du travail qu'ils accomplissent en notre nom dans toutes les localités du pays, les petites autant que les grandes.

Grâce au projet de loi, pour la première fois dans la longue histoire de la GRC, les membres auront un modèle de négociation collective adapté à la GRC, un modèle qui concilie les intérêts de l'organisation et la liberté d'association que la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés garantit à la personne.

Le projet de loi, qui a abouti à ce message, illustre également le rôle de second examen objectif confié au Sénat du Canada et exerçant sa fonction complémentaire de celle de la Chambre des communes. Qu'on me permette de remercier tout d'abord le sénateur Campbell, qui parraine le projet de loi, de nous avoir fait profiter de son intransigeante détermination à faire en sorte que le projet de loi soit acceptable. Je remercie également le Comité sénatorial permanent de la sécurité nationale et de la défense de sa diligence et de son examen approfondi du projet de loi.

Le comité a écouté bien des heures de témoignage de nombreux intéressés qui ont fait valoir des points de vue différents et souvent opposés. Les sénateurs Campbell et Carignan, critique du projet de loi, ont soulevé des questions importantes, et il s'avère qu'elles ont permis d'améliorer la version initiale du projet de loi.

C'est le sénateur Carignan qui a dit ce qui suit :

Qui sait, peut-être trouverons-nous des façons d'améliorer ce projet de loi, car le Sénat a le devoir de s'assurer que les projets de loi respectent les fondements juridiques de notre pays, notamment la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.

Le critique et le parrain de ce projet de loi ont travaillé ensemble et avec les membres du comité, en ayant à cœur l'intérêt de la GRC en tant qu'organisation, y compris, bien sûr, l'intérêt supérieur des femmes et des hommes qui ont risqué leur vie pour les Canadiens, comme le stipule leur devise : « Maintiens le droit ».

Grâce à ce bon travail, le Sénat a amélioré le projet de loi. Il a renvoyé à l'autre endroit une mesure plus solide, et je me réjouis que le message de l'autre endroit traite de préoccupations centrales que le Sénat a soulevées.

À un niveau général, disons que le projet de loi C-7 comprend des éléments clés qui traduisent les préférences clairement exprimées par les membres de la GRC au cours des consultations menées auprès d'eux à l'été de 2015. Les membres ont signifié clairement qu'ils voulaient un cadre des relations de travail prévoyant une seule une unité nationale de négociation, un syndicat qui cherche avant tout à représenter les membres de la GRC et le recours à l'arbitrage exécutoire lorsqu'il est impossible de parvenir à une convention collective par la voie de la négociation.

Le projet de loi C-7 met ce cadre en place. En outre, grâce à ce message, le projet de loi fait disparaître les restrictions propres à la GRC au sujet du contenu des conventions collectives ou décisions arbitrales.

Deuxièmement, le projet de loi comprend une disposition plus ciblée sur les droits de la direction pour mieux définir les pouvoirs dont le commissaire de la GRC a besoin pour assurer des opérations policières efficaces.

Ces deux amendements, conjugués, élargissent la portée de ce qu'on peut discuter et de ce qui peut figurer dans une convention collective. Ces sujets pourraient englober les questions couramment associées au harcèlement et au bien-être en milieu de travail, aux nominations et aux évaluations, ainsi que les mesures visant à atténuer l'impact du licenciement et de la rétrogradation de membres de la GRC.

Je souligne que ces deux amendements répondent en fait aux grandes critiques qui ont été formulées contre la version initiale du projet de loi C-7 présentée au Sénat.

Le Sénat a conféré une plus grande signification à la liberté d'expression des membres de la GRC, liberté protégée par la Charte, tout en la conciliant avec les impératifs légitimes de l'organisation qu'est la GRC.

Honorables sénateurs, le gouvernement a, sans aucun doute, prêté attention aux préoccupations exprimées ici et il a élargi la gamme des sujets qui peuvent figurer dans une convention collective ou une décision arbitrale. Notons par exemple les taux de rémunération, les heures de travail et les dispositions sur les congés, comme les jours fériés payés, les vacances, les congés de maladie et les congés parentaux. Il permet aussi de négocier des propositions relatives aux questions qui sont visées par les restrictions propres à la GRC prévues dans le projet de loi C-7.

Ces amendements rendront possibles des discussions sérieuses et de bonne foi à la table des négociations sur des enjeux d'une grande importance pour le bien-être en milieu de travail des membres de la GRC et des réservistes. Il est temps que nous en arrivions là, en ce 150e anniversaire du Canada et en ce 144e anniversaire de la GRC.

Certaines dispositions ne sont pas envisagées parce que, à dire vrai, les Canadiens ne peuvent pas se passer des services de la GRC. Voilà pourquoi le projet de loi C-7 interdit aux membres et aux réservistes de la GRC de faire la grève. En cas d'impasse dans les négociations collectives, le projet de loi prévoit un arbitrage exécutoire pour régler le différend.

De plus, comme je l'ai expliqué la dernière fois que nous avons discuté du projet de loi, il faut dire que, depuis 1967, des questions qui présentent un large intérêt transsectoriel, comme les pensions, sont exclues de la négociation. Elles sont abordées aux termes d'autres lois pour qu'il soit tenu compte de l'intérêt public. Les pensions relèvent donc de la Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique.

En outre, le gouvernement fédéral a toujours consulté les représentants des employés au sujet des pensions, et il s'engage à continuer de le faire, notamment en ce qui concerne la GRC. Dans le cas de la GRC, la Loi sur la pension de retraite de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada prévoit un Comité consultatif des pensions.

Ce comité, formé de membres réguliers et de représentants de la haute direction de la GRC, formule des recommandations au sujet de l'administration, de la conception et du financement des prestations de retraite.

Honorables sénateurs, ce régime est en place depuis plus de 40 ans, c'est-à-dire depuis le début de la négociation collective dans le secteur public fédéral.

C'est le même régime qu'on trouve dans le reste de la fonction publique. Il a été très efficace et il assure, à leur retraite, un bon revenu de remplacement aux hommes et femmes de la force.

Permettez-moi d'expliquer pourquoi le gouvernement ne peut pas accepter l'exigence d'un scrutin secret obligatoire pour l'accréditation d'un agent négociateur chargé de représenter les membres et réservistes de la GRC.

Le gouvernement est d'avis qu'il faut laisser le choix entre le scrutin secret et le système de vérification des cartes. Se limiter au seul scrutin secret, c'est incompatible avec l'établissement d'un processus juste et équilibré d'accréditation et la reconnaissance du rôle des agents négociateurs dans ce processus.

Le projet de loi C-4 confie à la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique le soin de décider s'il y a lieu de recourir au scrutin secret ou d'appliquer le système de vérification des cartes. Cette commission veillera à ce que, dans ce choix, il soit tenu compte des intérêts des membres. Le gouvernement n'a pas accepté non plus d'élargir le mandat de la Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique pour qu'elle puisse se saisir de questions plus nombreuses liées aux conditions d'emploi. En fait, cela aurait eu pour conséquence de créer deux processus de grief pour les membres de la GRC, l'un aux termes de la Loi sur la GRC et l'autre aux termes de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique.

Ce double processus risque de mener à des décisions contradictoires et de saper la capacité du commissaire d'assurer des opérations policières efficaces. Il vaut mieux que le droit des membres de la GRC de présenter des griefs et des appels au sujet de problèmes en milieu de travail soit administré en vertu de la Loi sur la GRC.

Il est clair que le gouvernement a fait des efforts considérables pour répondre aux questions importantes soulevées par nos collègues au Sénat.

Le gouvernement est déterminé à soutenir les membres et les réservistes de la GRC en leur procurant un processus sérieux de négociation collective. Je dirai au Sénat que, grâce à ce message, les membres de la GRC auront un processus digne de ce nom pour exercer leur liberté d'association.

En guise de conclusion, je voudrais relater un fait anecdotique, mais tout de même très convaincant qui témoigne de la valeur du travail du Sénat sur le projet de loi C-7. Selon une source digne de foi, à Terre-Neuve, pendant le week-end dernier, deux agents de la GRC auraient dit dans leur voiture de patrouille, à propos du parrain du projet de loi : « Vous êtes tout un homme, Larry. »

Je suis d'accord. Le sénateur Campbell est tout un homme. Il me tarde que le Sénat débatte de ce message et y réfléchisse et qu'il donne à la GRC des conditions dignes du XXIe siècle en matière de relations de travail.