This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Skip to Content

Senate Adopts Bill S-5 to regulate vaping products and implement plain packaging for tobacco products

A bill that creates a new federal regime to regulate vaping products and delivers on a government commitment to implement plain packaging for tobacco products is headed to the House of Commons after being adopted in the Senate today.

Bill S-5, sponsored by Senator Chantal Petitclerc, proposes to rename the Tobacco Act to the Tobacco and Vaping Products Act.

The legislation proposes to regulate the manufacture, sale, labelling and promotion of vaping products, and includes provisions to restrict sales to youth and to restrict the promotion of certain flavours that appeal to youth.

Bill S-5 responds to the recommendations of the House of Commons Standing Committee on Health, as well as stakeholders, to strike a balance between restricting the use of vaping products among youth while also ensuring they are available as a reduction tool for adults as a likely less harmful alternative to tobacco use.

The legislation also limits the appeal of tobacco products with the standardization of the appearance of both packages and the products they contain. Plain packaging rules have been adopted, with variation, in Australia, France, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Ce site est conçu pour les fureteurs compatibles avec les normes web. Il demeure tout de même fonctionnel avec les autres fureteurs.

Accéder au contenu

Le Sénat adopte le projet de loi S-5 qui réglemente les produits de vapotage

Un projet de loi établissant un nouveau régime fédéral pour la réglementation des produits de vapotage et donnant suite à la promesse du gouvernement relativement à l’utilisation d’emballages neutres pour les produits du tabac a été renvoyé à la Chambre des communes après son adoption au Sénat, aujourd’hui.

Le projet de loi S-5, parrainé par la sénatrice Chantal Petitclerc, prévoit que la Loi sur le tabac sera rebaptisée Loi sur le tabac et les produits de vapotage.

Le projet de loi propose de réglementer la fabrication, la vente, l’étiquetage et la promotion des produits de vapotage, et comporte des dispositions imposant des restrictions quant à la vente aux jeunes et à la promotion de certains arômes attrayants pour les jeunes.

Le projet de loi S-5 tient compte des recommandations formulées par le Comité permanent de la santé de la Chambre des communes ainsi que par des intervenants, selon lesquelles il faut à la fois limiter l’utilisation des produits de vapotage chez les jeunes tout en veillant à ce que les adultes puissent avoir accès à ces produits en tant qu’outil pour la réduction de l’usage du tabac, un produit vraisemblablement plus nocif.

Le projet de loi réduit aussi l’attrait des produits du tabac en normalisant tant les emballages que les produits qu’ils contiennent. Des règles sur les emballages neutres ont été adoptées, avec des variantes, en Australie, en France, au Royaume-Uni et en Irlande.